Accreditation from the Universities Act means a regulatory system for recognizing higher education institutions and academic and professional programmes associated with those institutions for a level of performance, integrity, appropriate standards and quality which entitle them to the confidence of the education community and the public they serve. The quality assurance therefore is a means by which an institution can guarantee with confidence and certainty, that the standards and quality of its educational provision are being maintained and enhanced, and are open to validation. The quality assurance tasks at TCU include the development of the following:

  • National guidelines and benchmarks for Quality Assurance.
  • An institutional Audit System
  • An institutional quality assurance, quality control and management system.
  • Database of experts and peer reviewers in various fields.
  • Leaflets, brochures and booklets on Quality Assurance activities and initiatives.

For purposes of ownership, management and administration, higher education institutions in Tanzania are categorized in two groups namely the public or government owned/managed institutions and private higher education institutions. Following the establishment of the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) in 2005, the recognition, registration, accreditation and general quality management structure, monitoring and assurance system for all public and private higher education institutions, their programmes, courses, students, staff and awards is the responsibility of the Commission.

For more details view Universities Act Cap. 346.

Stages of Accreditation of university institutions in Tanzania

In the process of promoting academic quality through formal recognition of universities and university colleges, therefore, the Commission established three stages for accreditation status namely

Certificate of Provisional Registration-CPR
Certificate of Full Registration –CFR
Certificate of Accreditation -CoA.