The Governance and Organisation Structure of the Tanzania Commission for Universities is comprised of the Commission, Committees of the Commission and the Secretariat.

The Commission is the highest decision-making organ which provides an oversight role on all matters related to university education in Tanzania.  The Commission operates through the Committees established under Section 9 of the Universities Act, Cap. 346 which provide technical advice to the Commission.

Guided by the appropriate government instruments, the Commission holds its meetings on quarterly basis (4 meetings per year). Matters which require the decision of the Commission therefore, need to be submitted to the secretariat, channeled to the appropriate Committee then presented to the Commission for the final decision and/or guidance. The decision of the Commission is then communicated to the respective stakeholders by the Secretariat.

To view the Almanac of Meetings of the Commission and its Committees, please click here.