Executive Secretary

It is my pleasure and gratitude to welcome you to our website. We at Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) trust that you will find this website superbly informative, educative and appealing to the high growing demand for knowledge about university education in Tanzania and beyond. READ MORE

The Commission (Board of Directors) is composed of the Chairperson who is appointed by the President of the United Republic of Tanzania and members appointed by Minister responsible for Higher Education. The tenue of office for members of the Commission is three years renewable once pending succsessful performance. The current Members of the Commission are:-

Names Highest Academic Qualification Position
Prof. Jacob Philip Mtabaji PhD (Physiology) Chairman
Prof. Makenya Maboko PhD (Geology) Vice Chairman
Prof. Idris Ahmada Rai PhD (Computer Science & Networking) Member
Dr. Zakhia Abubakar PhD (Plant Microbiology) Member
Mrs. Adelgunda Mgaya BA (Public Administration) Member
Prof. Charles Mgone PhD (Medical and Molecular Genetics) Member
Mr. Ephery Sedekia LLM Member
Prof. Charles D. Kihampa PhD (Chemistry) Secretary/Ex-officio Member


Committees of the Commission

The Commission operates through the Committee system. Section 9(1)-(2) and Section 9(3) of the Universities Act, Cap. 346 provide for the establishment  of Committees. Each Committee is given roles and functions. Currently we have five(5) Committees namely; Accreditation Committee, Admission Commitee,  Grants Committee,  Audit Committee and Staff Appointment, Discipline and Development Committee. The current Members of each Committee are as shown below:-


Accreditation Committee

  1. Prof. Makenya Maboko  - Chairperson
  2. Prof. Charles Mgone - Member
  3. Prof. Paschalis Rugarabamu - Member
  4. Dr. Adolf Rutayuga - Member
  5. Eng. Patrick Barozi - Member
  6. Prof. Charles Kihampa - Member
  7. Dr. Telemu Kassile - Secretary

Admission Commitee

  1. Prof. Charles Mgone  - Chairperson
  2. Prof. Allen Mushi  - Member
  3. Prof.  Andrea Pembe  - Member
  4. Dr. Zakia M. Abubakar  - Member
  5. Mr. Abdul –Razaq Badru  - Member
  6. Prof. Charles Kihampa - Member
  7. Dr. Kokuberwa Katunzi-Mollel  - Secretary

Grants Committee

  1. Ms. Adelgunda Mgaya -Chairperson
  2. Prof. Idris A. Rai -Member
  3. Mr. Godfrey Simbeye -Member
  4. Prof. Lughano Kusiluka -Member
  5. Ms, Bahati Gauzye -Member
  6. Prof. Charles Kihampa  -Member
  7. Mr. Mabula G. Mabula -Secretary

Audit Committee

  1. Prof. Idris  A. Rai -Chairperson 
  2. Mr. Ephery Serikia -Member
  3. Prof. Godwin Ndossi -Member
  4. Mr. Juma Abdulraham -Member
  5. Ms. Roserine Rutta -Secretary

Staff Appointment, Discipline and Development Committee

  1. Prof. Charles Kihampa -Chairperson
  2. Dr. Zakia M. Abubakar -Member
  3. Dr. Aggrey Mlimuka -Member
  4. Prof. David Mfinanga -Member
  5. Mr. Mabula G. Mabula -Secretary